Gratitude

I spent the entire week last battling with an irritating case of the Block. You know, as a writer, you want to have words at every possible moment. We crave the right words, the best expressions; such that we can weave a creation in the heart and mind of our reader and lend voice to that which burns within them. Even better, show them that which they have never had before. 

But it was not to be so for me. There was a lot to say, but not an inkling how to.

So, in the midst of my frustrations as a writer, and my irritation with a host of other things including a shortage of funds, bouts of hunger and an inexplicably foul mood, I tried to steer my mind to think on more profitable matters. 

And then thoughts of the good things God does for me everyday started floating into my consciousness. You see, it’s easy to overlook the little daily blessings in the bid to get that big dream you want. But the daily leads up to the dream.

So I realized that in one day, I’d had three near accidents on the road, not counting the others that I’d previously escaped. I also realized that I was making journeys every other day and I couldn’t rightly remember exactly how I got funds for each of those trips. I realized that I was coming to know more of the Lord, and His love was becoming more dear to me than ever. 

…and a lot of other things that were subtle but clear hints of His love for me… 

If these aren’t blessings, then I must need to be reeducated.

So I decided to do this one to remind you to be grateful. It really helps keep your mind on the Lord, and, very importantly, guard your heart. 

Be thankful for little and big things. Even when errors ensue, with a thankful heart you can turn it around! 

Finally, brothers and sisters, fill your minds with beauty and truth. Meditate on whatever is honorable, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is good, whatever is virtuous and praiseworthy.

Philippians 4:8 (VOICE) 

Leave a Reply

